Dream of Glory

SATURDAY August 1st, 2020.   NEW POST TIME  2:00pm

The Dream of Glory Final is Hanover Raceway’s Crown Jewel event.  Named in honour of the late great Hall of Fame stallion of the same name, who as a sire was a elite producer of successful race horses.

Dream of Glory was also an excellent race horse in his era, being named the USTA champion at ages 3, 4 and 5.  His owner however failed to enter him into some of the sport's biggest stakes that could have proven his elite ability on the track, including the Hambletonian and the Kentucky Futurity, with his owner saying he was more focussed on his Dairy business than his excellent Standardbred.

Regardless, Dream of Glory went on to a prestigious Stud career with Armstrong Brothers of Ontario and produced thousands of off-spring that earned over 48 million dollars in purse money and at last count included 144 winners of at least one hundred thousand dollars.  Dream of Glory died in 1992 at the age of 21.

Hanover Raceway pays tribute to the late stallion with its 3 year old stake race, which is held annually on the August Civic Holiday weekend.

Changes have been made in 2020 due to the COVID-19 restrictions. See press release here.

Further details will be update on this page, as things are added to this event.  Stay tuned and plan to attend one of Ontario Harness Racing's iconic race nights!


WIFI: FREE Password: hanoverraceway
Year Horse Driver Time
2020 Remember Titans Doug McNair
2019 Knight Angel Bruce Richardson
2018 Joey Bats Bruce Richardson
2017 Mister Muscle Bob McClure
2016 Wildwild Men Robert Shepherd
2015 Hemi Seelster Stephen Byron
2014 Warrawee Promesse Wayne Henry
2013 Enough About You Travis Henry
2012 Indian Summer Stephen Byron
2011 Traverse Seelster Doug Brown
2010 Krakatoa Randy Fritz
2009 Agusto Stephen Byron
2008 Random Solution Randy Fritz 1:59.3
2007 The Mad Duke Stephen Byron 1:57.4
2006 Colonel Talbot Ross Battin 1:58.2
2005 Oaklea Nolan James McClure 1:58.4
2004 Very Violet Ross Battin 2:01.0
2003 Armbro Amaze Ross Battin 1:59.0
2002 Abbey Road C Keith Jones 1:57.3